Raven: Best album of history.

It is crazy the impact music can have in a human being, how a song can change your mood every time you listen to it, how a band can change your life, or how an album can be the perfect soundtrack for every moment of your existence. The last example is exactly my case with the album I consider the most wonderful creation: American Idiot by Green Day.

Why I love it? I don’t know. I could say because it’s because it’s a conceptual album and I’m fascinated by the story its songs tell in 57:12 minutes and the way the end of each song is linked perfectly with the beginning of the next, but Green Day aren’t the first ones in do this in an album and American Idiot isn’t the first and won’t be the last conceptual album ever created.

I don’t know what it is but I love this album since the first time I listened to it and blew my mind. When I don’t have motivation to carry on, when I’m feeling blue or even alone, hopeless and misunderstood, all I need are speakers American Idiot spinning loudly. I can’t even choose a favorite song from it, I feel it as a whole, a source of life force.

I could spend hours writing about this but you’ll never understand something like this if you don’t experience it so I’ll link a video below in which someone called Kytampis compiled the album and then uploaded it to YouTube. I know, I know… it’s illegal, but sharing something like this to the world for free I’ll say it’s like charity.

TRACKLIST:

1. “American Idiot”
2. “Jesus of Suburbia”
I. “Jesus of Suburbia”
II. “City of the Damned”
III. “I Don’t Care”
IV. “Dearly Beloved”
V. “Tales of Another Broken Home”
3. “Holiday”
4. “Boulevard of Broken Dreams”
5. “Are We the Waiting”
6. “St. Jimmy”
7. “Give Me Novacaine”
8. “She’s a Rebel”
9. “Extraordinary Girl”
10. “Letterbomb”
11. “Wake Me Up When September Ends”
12. “Homecoming”
I. “The Death of St. Jimmy”
II. “East 12th St.”
III. “Nobody Likes You”
IV. “Rock and Roll Girlfriend”
V. “We’re Coming Home Again”
13. “Whatsername”

*this tracklist was taken from the Wikipedia’s article about the album*

So there you have the album and its tracklist. I really hope you enjoy it, and if you don’t like it or don’t get to feel what I feel with it, at least you won’t go through this life without having listened to this wonderful work of art.

This is Raven checking out…

See y’all, suburban saints!

Songwriting-Escape-Feather-black

Leave a comment